APARTHEID: The International Legal Implications

by Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
with Millard W. Arnold (editor), Oscar Schachter, Leslie O. Harriman
Washington, DC, United States
Undated, late 1978 or early 1979
122 pages
Type: Report
Coverage in Africa: Namibia, South Africa, Lesotho
Coverage outside Africa: United States, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: INTRODUCTION • LIST OF PARTICIPANTS • HOMELANDS POLICY AND INTERNATIONAL RECOGNITION • THE HOMELANDS POLICY AND PRINCIPLES OF NATIONALITY AND CITIZENSHIP • THE HOMELANDS POLICY AND THE CREATION OF CONDITIONS OF STATELESSNESS • THE RESPONSIBILITY FOR INJURIES OCCURRING WITHIN THE HOMELANDS • CONFLICTING VIEWS OF SELF-DETERMINATION • WALVIS BAY: CONFLICTING CLAIMS OF TERRITORIAL SOVEREIGNTY • PROTECTION OF HUMAN RIGHTS IN SOUTH AFRICA • AMERICAN POLICY AND INTERNATIONAL LAW • LUNCHEON REMARKS OF OSCAR SCHACHTER • DINNER REMARKS OF AMBASSADOR LESLIE O. HARRIMAN • APPENDIX • Report on the November 1978 Conference on the International Legal Effects of South Africa’s System of Apartheid. The report says participants were Amy Young-Anawaty, Director, International Human Rights Law Group; Charles Bane, Isham Lincoln & Beale; Thomas Barr, Cravath, Swaine & Moore; Mark Benson; William H. Both; Bruce Bushey, The Ford Foundation; William Butler, Butler, Jablow & Geller; Joel Carlson; Don Castlebury, National Lawyers' Guild; William Cotter, President, African-American Institute; Michael Davis, Weiss, Dawid, Fross & Lehrman; John Dugard, University of Witwatersrand; Martin Garbus, Frankfurs, Garbus, Klein & Selz; Ernest Gross, Curtis, Mallet-Provost, Colt & Mosle; Conrad Harper, Simpson, Thacher & Bartlett; David Hood, The Carnegie Corporation; Robert Kapp; Hogan & Hartson; Edward Laing, University of Maryland School of Law; Elizabeth Landis, United Nations Council for Namibia, George Lindsay, Debevoise, Plimpton, Lyons & Gates, Bert Lockwood, Jr., The American University School of Law; Andrew Maguire, House of Representatives; Robert Manley, Seton Hall University; Terry Michelman; Robert Murphy; A. Peter Mutharika, Washington University; Winston P. Nagan, University of Florida; Christopher Osakwe, Tulane University; Michael Posner, Executive Director, Lawyers’ Committee for International Human Rights; Ronald Pump, AT&T; Harriet Rabb, Columbia University; Henry Richardson, National Security Council; Oscar Schachter, Columbia University; Whitney North Seymour, Debevoise, Plimpton, Lyons & Gates; Jerome Shestack, Schnader, Harrison, Segal & Lewis; Theodore Sorenson, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind Wharton & Garrison; John Stremlau, The Rockefeller Foundation; Douglas Wachholz, Department of State; Peter Weiss, Weiss, Dawid, Fross & Lehrman; Diane Boernstein, United Nations; Linda Potter, Phelphs-Stokes Fund; and Dunston Wai, The Rockefeller Foundation. The report discusses Transkei, Bophuthatswana, Venda, Ciskei, Kwazulu, Basotho Qwa Qwa, Swazi, South Ndebele, Afrikaners, Hendrik F. Verwoerd, the General Assembly of the United Nations, a crime against humanity, the United Nations Commission on Human Rights, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Judge Tanaka, the South West Africa cases, non-discrimination, race, customary international law, citizenship, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR), the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the Crossroads squatter camp, Minister of Plural Relations and Development Piet Koornhof, the Convention Relating to the Status of Stateless Persons, the Hague convention on Certain Questions Relating to the Conflict of Nationality Laws, the Convention on the Status of Refugees, the International Court of Justice (ICJ), the World Court, the Permanent Court of Justice, indigenous blacks, UN General Assembly Resolution 1514 (XV), the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and People, colonialism , economic exploitation, the UN Charter, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), the African National Congress(ANC), the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), liberation movements, the National Party, the Promotion of Black Self-Government Act, the Development Trust and Land Act, Vice President Mondale, Prime Minister John Vorster, the League of Nations, the Union of South Africa, the South West Africa Affairs Act, the Democratic Turnhalle Alliance (DTA), General Assembly Resolution 1514, the International Year Against Apartheid, the International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination, the Civil and Political Rights Covenant, International Convention on the Suppression and Punishment on the Crime of Apartheid, the United Nations Centre Against Apartheid, the 1977 Security Council Resolution banning arms trade with South Africa, U.S. corporations, the Export-Import Bank, sanctions, the UN Participation Act, U.S. corporate disinvestment, Steve Biko, Nelson Mandela, unjust laws, Don McHenry, Cyrus Vance, Andrew Young, Rhodesia, bantustans, Hottentots, San, Theo Ben-Gurirab, the South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), and Emmitt Roberts. [Notes: Page numbers 20 and 108 missing; those pages may have been blank except for the page number. Page number 101 is missing and clearly had text.]

Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.