by Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, DC, United States
Undated, Fall 1991
4 pages
Type: Report
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
The report says at least 20 parties will meet in Johannesburg at a historic "all-party" conference on December 20-21 to determine the process for establishing the constitutional foundation of a post-apartheid South Africa. This meeting marks the first in what is expected to be a series of sessions of the Convention for a Democratic South Africa (CODESA). The meeting will be chaired by two South African Supreme Court justices, Justice Ismail Mohamed and Justice Petrus J. Schabort. The report says international observers will be present, possibly from the United Nations, the Non-aligned Movement, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), the Commonwealth, and the European Community. Participants will include the once-banned liberation movement the African National Congress (ANC), the ruling National Party, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), the South African Communist Party (SACP), the Indian Congresses, the Asian and Coloured parties that have participated in the discredited tricameral Parliament, and representatives from the nominally independent bantustans, and the homelands. The report says the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), in a national congress on December 15 and 16, decided to boycott the Convention. The report says participating parties have already reached consensus on certain key constitutional points. All agree on the need for universal franchise based on one-person-one vote, a multi-party system, an entrenched Bill of Rights enforced by an independent judiciary, and reincorporation of the bantustans. However, many significant differences remain. The report outlines the positions of the different parties on constitution making process, transitional authority, the transition period, and constitutional proposals. The report discusses the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU), the National Council of Trade Unions (NACTU), Conservative Party, the Afrikaner Resistance Movement, the Azanian People's Organization (AZAPO), President F.W. de Klerk, Gatsha Buthelezi, KwaZulu, sanctions, mass demonstrations, armed struggle, and black consciousness. • South African Government-National Party • The African National Congress • The Pan Africanist Congress • The Inkatha Freedom Party
Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root