by William L. Robinson, Gay J. McDougall, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, DC, United States
Publisher: Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
47 pages
Type: Report
Coverage in Africa: Namibia, South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States, United Nations
Language: English
Contents: 1982: TIGHTER RESTRICTIONS, CONTINUED REPRESSION • TORTURE AND DEATH IN DETENTION • The Neil Aggett Inquest • The Isaac Muofhe Inquest • Complaint by the Health Worker Organization Against Doctors Ivor Lang and Benjamin Tucker • TRADE UNIONS ON TRIAL • State v. Barbara Hogan • State v. Alan Fine • State v. Lekhotla Kotelo & 57 Others • GRAND APARTHEID: THE HOMELANDS • State v. Size Mpupa & Others • State v. Sidudla Nene & 22 Others • State v. Randell Veliti & 16 Others • The Government of KaNgwane v. The Government of the Republic of South Africa • THE CHURCH V. APARTHEID • State v. Cedric Mayson • State v. South African Council of Churches • State v. Phaswane & Phosiwa • THE COURTS AND VIOLENT OPPOSITION • State v. Khotso Seatlholo • State v. Stanley Radebe & Ephraim Madalane • State v. Mokaba, Maake & Nhlapo • State v. Lubisi, Mashigo & Manana • State v. Tsotsobe, Shabangu & Moise • State v. Mosololi, Mogoerane & Motaung • NAMIBIA • The Committee for a Free Namibia v. SWAPO • State v. Malambo, Jason & Sagarius • HARASSMENT OF CORRESPONDENT ATTORNEYS • Peer v. Minister of Police • UNITED NATIONS YEAR OF SANCTIONS AGAINST SOUTH AFRICA • CONSULTATIONS AND COMMUNICATIONS • PROJECT FINANCES • ADMINISTRATION AND OVERSIGHT • ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS • Southern Africa Project annual report for 1982. The report discusses the Intimidation Act, the Internal Security Act of 1982, P.J. Rabie, the Minister of Law and Oder, detainees, John Vorster Square, Ahmed Timol, Matthews Mabelane, "Prema" Naidoo, Auret van Heerden, security police, Magistrate Petrus Kotze, the Lutheran Church, Venda, the State of Emergency, Rev. T.S Farisani, Steve Biko, the African National Congress (ANC), the South African Institute of Race Relations, the Rand Supreme Court, treason, the South African Congress of Trade Unions (SACTU), the Terrorism Act, the African Food and Canning Workers' Union, the South African Allied Workers' Union (SAAWU), Thozamile Gqweta, Sam Kikine , the migrant labor system, black mine workers, strikes, the Transkei, the bantustans, The Washington Post, Meg Greenfield, influx control, Orderly Movement and Settlement of Black Persons Bill, the Prohibition of Improper Interference Act, the Ministry of Cooperation and Development, Black Sash, John Zenzile, Bophuthatswana, Ciskei, the 1971 National States Constitution Act, the Black Administration Act, KwaZulu, Enos Mabuza, the Dutch Reformed Church, Allan Boesak, the World Alliance of Reformed Churches, Beyers Naude, the Christian Institute, the Methodist Church, Bishop Desmond Tutu, the Eloff Commission of Inquiry, the South African Council of Churches (SACC), Father Robert Drinan, Judge George Edwards, Evangelical Lutheran Church, the International Commission of Jurists, the South African Youth Revolutionary Council (SAYRCO), Soweto, the Students' Representative Council, the Congressional Black Caucus, Atlanta Mayor Andrew Young, Secretary of State George P. Shultz, Assistant Secretary of State Chester Crocker, South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), the United Nations, Carl L. Shipley, Marion H. Smoak, the Foreign Agents Registration Act, the Administrator General of Namibia, Robert P. Watkins, Cynthia Cannady, the Geneva Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War, the International Committee of the Red Cross, Theofilus Jason, Lucius Nangala Malambo, Josef Sagarius, the People's Liberation Army of Namibia (PLAN), Bryan O'Linn, John Dugard, Griffiths Mxenge, Omar Peer, the International Conference on Sanctions Against South Africa, the Reagan Administration, the arms embargo against South Africa, Senator Charles Percy, Commerce Department Secretary Malcolm Baldrige, Dr. A.J.A. Roux, the South African Atomic Energy Board, helium-3, thermonuclear weapons, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, the Mitsubishi International Corporation, Edlow International, a Control Data Cyber 170/750 computer, the Koeburg reactor, U.N. Special Committee Against Apartheid, the Foreign Assistance Act, the House Subcommittee on Africa, Judge William Clark, National Security Affairs, Lawyers for Human Rights, Navanethem Pillay, Robben Island, Jose Luis Cabaco, Halton Cheadle, the Legal Resources Center, Donald Nkadimeng, Maxime Rafransoa, the All Africa Conference of Churches; Bishop Cleopas Dumini, Evangelical Lutheran Ovambokavango Church; Rev. Absalom Hafeni Hasheela, Bishop James Kaluma, the Anglican Church: Albertus Maasdorp, th Namibia Council of Churches; Dr. James Moulder, Robert Kapp, Goler Butcher, Charles Runyon, Peter Connell, and Elliott Abrams. The report discusses Hotel, Liquor and Catering Trade Employees' Union; Shipley, Smoak & Henry; and Transnuclear, Inc. 
Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root