Memorandum #1 to Namibia Writers' Bureau

by Christine Root, Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
with Mike Fleshman, The Africa Fund, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, Namibia Communications Centre, Michael Prosper
East Lansing, Michigan, United States
July 16, 1989
Publisher: Association of Concerned Africa Scholars
26 pages
Type: Memorandum
Coverage in Africa: Angola, Namibia, South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Cuba, United Nations
Language: English
This first packet for the “Namibia Writers' Bureau” focuses on harassment and intimidation of Namibians by the South African-controlled police. The memo includes sections on: The Crisis Created by Koevoet, The Student Strike in Northern Namibia, Voter Registration and Elections Procedures, and Other South Africa Efforts to Deny SWAPO an Election Victory. The packet includes ACRCNYMS AND TITLES FREQUENTLY APPEARING ABOUT NAMIBIA; Report Number 1 by Mike Fleshman of The Africa Fund; Report of a Visit by Peter Pike M.P., John Macdonald Q.C. and Alison Harvey from Sunday 28th May to Friday 2nd June 1989; THIS WEEK IN NAMIBIA, Week of June 25 - July 1, 1989, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law; Statement by the Secretary-General (Javier Perez de Cuellar) to the U.N. Security Council in Informal Consultation on 27 June 1989; LUTHERAN BISHOPS DEMAND KOEVOET WITHDRAWAL - ASK WORLDS HELP, Namibia Communications Center reprinted by The Africa Fund; REPORTS ON STUDENT STRIKE IN NORTHERN NAMIBIA, Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law; SOUTH AFRICAN ADMINISTRATORS IN NAMIBIA IN ANTI-435 PLOT, Namibia Communications Centre; and "SADF Strengthened -- Atrocities Persist" from Focus on Political Repression in Southern Africa, March-April, 1989, published by International Defense and Aid Fund for Southern Africa. It also includes reprints of newspaper articles including "Alleged Police Threatens Namibia Election Process" by William Claiborne, "SA 'manipulating' Namibian poll" by David Beresford, "STUDENTS DEFY SA THREAT" by Mbatjiua Ngavirue, and "Namibia: Southern Africa Project Sends Team to Monitor Elections" by Michael Prosper. The memorandum discusses Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa (ECSA), the American Committee on Africa (ACOA), Oxfam America, F.W. de Klerk, UNITA, the South West Africa People's Organization (SWAPO), PLAN (Peoples' Liberation Army of Namibia), UN Special Representative Martti Ahtisaari, the Administrator General (AG), Louis Pienaar, UNTAG (United Nations Transition Assistance Group), SWAPOL (South West Africa Police Force), 101 Battalion, DTA (Democratic Turnhalle Alliance), NANSO (Namibia National Students Organization), NANTU (Namibia National Teachers Union), Ongwediva, the Human Rights Center, Casspirs, Steven Fanning, the Frontline States, the South West Africa Territorial Force (SWATF), Anton Lubowski, Resolution 435, Lt. Gen. Dolf Gouws, the Council of Churches of Namibia (CCN), Dr. Shejavali, Paulus Davids, Petrus Joseph, Ovamboland, Lukas Rooi, Chief Hendrik Witbooi, the Namibia National Teachers Union (NANTU), the Namibian Public Workers Union (NAPWU), the South West Africa Broadcasting Corporation (SWABC), General Dreyer, United Nations High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR), the Kavango Reception Centre in Nkurenkuru, Nicolas Bwakira, voter registration, Bishop Kleopas Dumeni, Bishop Hendrik Frederik, Brigadier Hans Dreyer, John Evenson, the South West Africa National Security Council, P.W. Botha, Walvis Bay, Elizabeth S. Landis, Gay J. McDougall, Todd Larson, Dorothy Q. Thomas, Secretary of State James Baker, and the National Party.
Used by permission of several co-chairs of the Association of Concerned Africa Scholars.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root