by Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law
Washington, DC, United States
September 20, 1990
69 pages
The report discusses Butana Almond Nofomela, David Tshikalange, Johannes Dirk Coetzee, the Vlakplaas farm, the Civil Cooperation Bureau (CCB), South African State President F.W. de Klerk, Orange Free State Attorney-General T. McNally, Lieutenant-General Alwyn Conradie of the South African Police, Justice Louis Harms, Duduza, Lebowa, Bophuthatswana, Justice V.G. Hiemstra, the Johannesburg City Council, South African Military Intelligence, killings of anti-apartheid activists, the African National Congress (ANC), Nelson Mandela, ultra-right wing whites, Butana Almond Nofomela, the murder of human rights lawyer Griffiths Mxenge, South African Justice Minister Kobie Coetsee, Burgerlike Samewerkingsburo (BSB), Victoria Mxenge, Sylvia Dhlomo Jele, Sicelo Dhlomo, the Independent Board of Inquiry into Informal Repression, the South African Council of Churches, Professor Laurie Ackermann of Stellenbosch University, Doctor Allan Boesak, Doctor Alex Boraine, Doctor Manas Buthelezi, Judy Chalmers, Reverend Frank Chikane, Max Coleman of the Detainees' Parents Support Committee, Brian Currin of Lawyers for Human Rights, Sheena Duncan of Black Sash, Peter Harris, Eric Molobi, Br. Jude Pieterse of the Southern African Catholic Bishops' Conference, Anglican Archbishop Desmond Tutu, David Webster, the Human Rights Commission, Kwa Mashu, Professor John Dugard, Sheena Duncan, Father Smangaliso Mkhatshwa, Umlazi, Ruth First, Eduardo Mondlane University, Joe Slovo, the South African Communist Party, Shawn Slovo, Cradock, the United Democratic Front (UDF), Matthew Goniwe, Eric Mntonga, the Institute for a Democratic Alternative for South Africa (IDASA), Ciskei, Defence Minister General Magnus Malan, Dulcie September, Francois Mitterand, Albie Sachs, Abu-Baker Asvat, Soweto, the Azanian People's Organisation (AZAPO), Albertina Sisulu, Calla Botha, Ferdinand Barnard, Anton Lubowski, the South West Africa People's Organisation (SWAPO), Donald Acheson, Khotso House, Brigadier Willem Schoon, Brian Justice Nqulunga, David Tshikalange, Joseph Mamaselela, Jeffrey Bosego, Zakhele Nyanda, Keith McFadden, General Lothar Neethling, Sizwe Kondile, Jeanette Schoon, Marius Schoon, General Johan Coetzee, the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, David Tshikalange, Brigadier Floris Mostert, Ferdinand Barnard, Roland Bruce White, the End Conscription Campaign, Transkei, General Witkop Badenhorst, Brigadier Engelbrecht, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Gavin Evans, the Athlone Early Learning Centre, Major-General Eddie Webb, Colonel Joe Verster, the Internal Security Act, Abraham "Slang" Van Zyl, A.J.M. Joubert, Special Forces, Constand Viljoen, Jannie Geldenhuys, Martin Luitingh, "Staal" Burger, Dullah Omar, the Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU), Jay Naidoo, Chappie Maree, A.J. Liebenberg, Jan van der Hoven, Joyce Dipale, Florence Ribeiro, Willie van Deventer, Christo Brits, Braam Cilliers, Eberhard Bertelsmann, the Commissions Act, Dennis Fine, Frik Barnard, John Pearce, Hannes Gouws, Johan Beetge, Tony Naude, the Five Freedoms Forum (FFF), Michael Olivier, the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), Sam Chand, Michael Lapsley, Aldo Mogano, Alexandra township, Abel Molokwane, the Brits Action Committee, the Brits Education Forum, Brian Ngqulunga, Japhta Masemola, Sam Mabe, Muntu Myeza, Lawyers for Human Rights, Piet Rudolph, Blanke Veiligheid, the Nation Union of Mineworkers, Hendrik Steyn, Brandwag, Wes-Randse Blanke Gemeenskapswag, Afrikaner Weerstandsbeweging (AWB), and Gary Cornish. Contents: Executive Summary • I. Introduction • II. The Victims • III. Revelations • IV. The Harms Commission of Inquiry • A. The South African Defence Force's Death Squad, CCB • B. The South African Police's Death Squad, Unit C1 • C. The Conduct of the Inquiry • V. The Hiemstra Commission of Inquiry • VI. Continuing Attacks • Appendix I List of security force personnel and others named in this report • Appendix II Chain of command for the South African Defence Force's Death Squad,the CCB
Used by permission of Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root