ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
October 10, 1992
10 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: Namibia, South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Europe, United Nations
Language: English
The newsletter reprints newspaper articles including: "Army chief increases attacks on ANC" by John Carlin, "Right unites Against ANC and Pretoria" by John Carlin, "Homeland leaders talk to white right" by Patrick Laurence, "Zulu chief threatens homeland secession" by Fred Bridgland, "Desperate Buthelezi plays power gambit" by Allister Sparks, "Mystery Mozambicans boost KZP manpower", "SA accepts EC offer to retrain policemen" by Arthur Gavshon, "Zulus relive a dream of empire" by John Carlin, "South Africa's wild card" by David Beresford, "Was there a deliberate ambush at Bisho?" by Andrew Trench and Louise Flanagan, "Federation and regionalization", "Battle for the rural vote", "Natal's powderkeg just waits for a spark" by Carmel Rickard, "Peace hopes dwindle amid fears of Zulu-ANC clash" by Christopher Munnion, "Massacre fear over ANC march" by Christopher Munnion, "Zulus go on warpath over ANC threat to march on their city" by Richard Ellis, "Paper that went too far?" by David Beresford, "Anti-Apartheid Group Seeks to Subpoena Papers" by Paula L. Green. The newsletter includes a review of ACCOUNTABILITY IN NAMIBIA: Human Rights and the Transition to Democracy by Africa Watch. The newsletter discusses the African National Congress (ANC), Nelson Mandela, the National Party (NP), F.W. de Klerk, the KwaZulu police, KwaMashu, Ciskei, QwaQwa, Bophuthatswana, Transkei, Lebowa, Gazankulu, Venda, KwaNdebele, the Bisho massacre, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), the SACP (South African Communist Party), Chief Mangosuthu Buthelezi, Jennifer Davis, The Africa Fund, the Journal of Commerce, the Department of Commerce, illegal arms exports to Southern Africa, the United Nations arms embargo, the State Department, the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, Sen. Paul Simon, SWAPO, Security Council resolution 435 (1978),COSATU, the Afrikaner Resistance Movement (AWB), Eugene TerreBlanche, Ulundi, Cyril Ramaphosa, Minister of Constitutional Development Roelf Meyer, 121 Battalion, the South African Defence Force (SADF), Brigadier Oupa Gqozo, AK47s, the Umlazi Local Dispute Resolution Committee, Brigadier Marius Oelschig, Ronnie Kasrils, the Goldstone Commission, Thomas Mandla Tshahalala, European Community (EC), the World Council of Churches, the Commonwealth, the United Democratic Front (UDF), the Conservative Party, Dr. Treurnicht, the Dutch Reformed Church, Lucas Mangope, Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK), Gatsha Buthelezi, bantustans, and Richard Goldstone.
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root