ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
May 13, 1992
10 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: Namibia, South Africa, Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States, Europe
Language: English
The newsletter includes a quote by the Synod of the Bishops of the Anglican Church, 3 May 1992. The newsletter reprints newspaper articles and opinion pieces including: "European proposal to monitor SA police" by John Carlin, "S African Cabinet divided over OAU monitoring visit" by Christopher Munnion, "S Africa judge links police to murders" by Christopher Munnion, "'Stench of corruption' surrounds Pretoria" by John Carlin, "Release of SA policeman sparks outcry" by John Carlin, "Living under the shadow of Big Brother" by Gerald L'Ange, "Softly-softly into land reform" by Dale Lautenbach, "Minsters linked to killing of ANC men" by John Carlin, "Army 'murder link' brings new crisis for De Klerk" by David Beresford, "Death-squad scandal hits talks" by Allister Sparks, "Deal emerging on control of all South African forces" by David Beresford, "White SA policeman sentenced to death" by John Carlin, "Policeman likely to escape hanging for Natal murders" by David Beresford, "Judge exposes SA police" by John Carlin, "Massacre policeman turns to God" by Vicky Quinlan, "Next govt being shorn of its economic weapons" by Jay Naidoo, "Effort to unionise farmworkers balked". The newsletter discusses the European Community (EC), the African National Congress (ANC), Nelson Mandela, the Organization of African Unity (OAU), the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Uffe Ellemann-Jensen, Neil van Heerden, Hernus Kriel, the Pan-Africanist Congress (PAC), Benny Alexander, David Ntombela, Richard .Shange, KwaZulu, the Civil Co-operation Bureau, Justice James Didcott, Peter Gastrow, the Democratic Party, David Webster, F.W. de Klerk, Derek Keys, Roelf Meyer, Gerrit Viljoen, Captain Brian Mitchell, Gene Louw, Louis Pienaar, the National Party, Kheta Shange, Kobie Coetsee, Lawyers for Human Rights, Hage Geingob, Walvis Bay, SWAPO, Convention for a Democratic South Africa (Codesa), the Odendaal Commission, the Agriculture Bank, Pennain Erlank, Finance Minister Otto Herrige, Hidipo Hamutenya, General C.P. van der Westhuizen, P.W. Botha, Pik Botha, the State Security Council, Matthew Goniwe, Mbolelo Goniwe, Ford Calata, the UDF (United Democratic Front), SADF (South African Defence Force), Transkei, Bantu Holomisa, Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK), Gerrit Viljoen, Justice Andrew Wilson, the Trust Feeds township, SAP (South African Police), Kehla Ngubane, Thabo Sikhosana, Dumisani NdwaJane, David Khambule, Captain Frank Dutton, COSATU, Escom, Spoornet, Transnet, Armscor, Sasol, Posts and Telecommunications, the Food and Allied Workers Union (FAWU), Mike Madlala, the Labour Relations Act, the Basic Conditions of Employment and Unemployment Insurance Acts, Piet Marais, the Laboria Minute, National Union of Farmworkers, and the National Council of Trade Unions (NCTU).
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root