ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
March 6, 1986
10 pages
The newsletter says step by step the 'Transitional Government' set up in occupied Namibia by that Territory's South African occupiers is being allowed to assert itself; since its emplacement last June the Windhoek institution (known locally as 'Permanent Interim Government - PIG') has increasingly functioned in those areas permitted by Pretoria - all but foreign affairs, defense and security; a national assembly passes laws and a cabinet creates operative bodies and makes decrees; all of course subject to approval by Pretoria's resident gauleiter, the administrator-general. The newsletter includes the text of a telegram send by leaders of 21 U.S. churches and church associations to the chairman of 10 U.S. banks with loans to South Africa including John S. Reed, Citicorp; J.A. Rice, Irving Bank; A. Brittain, III, Bankers Trust Company; L.T. Preston, J.P. Morgan & Company; W.V. Shipley, Chemical Bank; W.G. Butcher, Chase Manhattan Bank; Louis Moskowitz, Republic National Bank; J.F. McGillicuddy, Manufacturers Hanover Bank; L.S. Prussia, Bank America; and W.L. McColl, N.C.N.B. The newsletter includes U.S. State Department Southern Africa Desk Officers, January 1986. The newsletter includes reprints of newspaper articles including "Move to muzzle critic of interim government", "TG forms National Security Council" by Jean Sutherland, "3 South African Clerics Urge Banks Not to Ease Debt Crisis" by Alan Cowell, "South Africa and Creditor Banks Reach Short-Term Debt Accord" by Peter Norman, "Pretoria and banks in debt 'consensus'" by Peter Montagnon, "Learning to live without apartheid" by Andrew Meldrum, "Mugabe renews sanctions demand" by Andrew Meldrum, "Southern Africa wins donor backing" by Stephanie Gray, "Holladay to Direct S. Africa Policy Unit" by David B. Ottaway,"CCN calls forum for joint strategy" by Jim Freeman, and "Bishops sue British MP for 'death-list' claim". The newsletter discusses the South African Defence Force (SADF), UNITA, Jonas Savimbi, the Council of Churches in Namibia (CCN), the Standing Committee on National Unity, Lucas de Vries, the Evangelical Lutheran Church, the Rehoboth Free Democratic Party, the National Unity Committee, SWAPO (South West African People's Organization), Moses Katjiuongua, Bishop Desmond Tutu, Re. Allan Boesak, Rev. Bayers Naude, Fritz Leutwiler, P.W. Botha, Chris Stals, the Reserve Bank, the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) , the Mozambique National Resistance (MNR), Beria, sanctions, the Reagan Administration, the Nordic countries (Sweden, Norway, Finland, Denmark), Iceland, Peter Mmusi, Michael Sefali, the African National Congress (ANC), the Pan Africanist Congress (PAC), "constructive engagement", Douglas Holladay, the Working Group on South Africa and Southern Africa, George P. Shultz, Abisai Shejavali, Swanu (South West Africa National Union), Vekuii Rukoro, the Namibia Independence Party, the Damara Council, the Mbanderu Council, Christian Democratic Action for Social Justice (CDA), the Namibia National Student's Organization (NANSO), Namibian Woman’s Voice, the Young Woman’s Christian Association (YWCA), Peter Kalangula, the Peoples’ Consultative Conference, Bishop James Kauluma, Nicholas Winterton, Bishop Kleopas Dumeni, the Evangelical Lutheran Ovambo-Kavango Church, Paul Shipanga, Sam Nujoma, the Conservative Party, Roman Catholic Vicar General Father Heinz Henning, and Cuban troops.
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root