ECSA Bulletin

by Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa
New York, New York, United States
April 6, 1994
12 pages
Type: Newsletter
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
The newsletter reprints newspaper articles including: "SA opinion polls say ANC is assured of electoral victory" by John Carlin, "British police to help force in S Africa" by David Beresford, "Fight goes out of Zulu warrior" by John Carlin, "The Buthelezi henchman who leaves mass murder in his wake" by Phillip van Niekerk, "Rage and fear in a town rent asunder" by Chris McGreal, "Inkatha thugs write 'Don't vote' in blood" by Chris McGreal, "SA army throws in its lot with ANC" by John Carlin, "Inkatha executes five ANC Zulus" by John Carlin, "Zulu wars haunt S. Africa" by Phillip van Niekerk, "'Police mafia threatens endless war in South Africa'" by John Carlin, and "In Pretoria's cesspit" by David Beresford. The newsletter includes THROWING LIGHT ON DETENTION WITHOUT TRIAL by the Human Rights Commission. The newsletter includes THE POWER OF LOVE by The Welcome Home Centre. The newsletter discusses the African National Congress (ANC), F.W. de Klerk, the National Party, the Independent Electoral Commission, the Institute for Multi-Party Democracy, the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), R.W. Johnson, Chief Mangosuthu Buthelezi, King Goodwill Zwelithini, Henry Kissinger, Lord Carrington, Empangeni, Natal, the South African Defence Force (SADF), the European Union, Keith Biddle, Lieutenant-General Basie Smit, the Goldstone Commission, Lieutenant-General Johan le Rowe, the Third Force, the Boipatong massacre, Nelson Mandela, the KwaZulu homeland, Jacob Zuma, Margaret Thatcher, Themba Khoza, Nqutu massacre, AK-47 rifles, Library Gardens, Major Kobus Peche, Shell House, Mkhapheni Mpanza, Senzo Mchunu, Robert Mkhize, Ndukuzempi Mzelemu, Bambhayi Squatter camp, Gamalakhe township, killings, Cyril Ramaphosa, the Transitional Executive Council, Bophuthatswana, Ciskei, General Georg Meiring, the Afrikaner Volksfront, General Constand Viljoen, Johann Kriegler, James Mthembu, John Dube, Albert Luthuli, Aaron Ndlovu, Dirk Coetzee, Eugene de Kock, Koevoet (Crowbar), the South African Police (SAP), the KwaZulu Police (KZP), Minister of Law and Order Hernus Kriel, Vlakplaas, SWAPO, the apartheid government, the Internal Security Act, the Public Safety Act, the Abolition of Restrictions on Free Political Activity Act, the Interim Constitution, Doornfontein, and Emelda Damani.
Used by permission of former board members of the Episcopal Churchpeople for a Free Southern Africa.
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root