by Chicago-Midwest ANC Centenary Coordinating Committee
Chicago, Illinois, United States
March 2012
4 pages
Type: Program
Coverage in Africa: South Africa
Coverage outside Africa: United States
Language: English
Program for an event celebrating the 100th anniversary of the African National Congress (ANC) in Chicago. The program includes: Welcome, Nomvume Maqaga- South African Consulate General in Chicago; Opening remarks, Lisa Brock, Academic Director of the Arcus Center for Social Justice Leadership, Kalamazoo College; Heidi Marshall, College Archives & Digital Collections at Columbia College Chicago/Chicago Anti-Apartheid Movement Collection; Nicole Erhardt, Chicago Feminist/Occupy Activist; Tamar Evangelestia-Dougherty, Interim Executive Director and Consulting Archivist, Black Metropolis Research Consortium, Chicago; Leena Odeh, Youth activist, Ella's Daughters (on behalf of Cheryl Johnson-Odim, Provost, Dominican University); Christine Root, Project Manager, African Activist Archive, Michigan State University; Steve Roseman, teacher, Gage Park High School; Questions and discussion; and Reception. The program says sponsors are the National Lawyers Guild; the Human Rights Program at the University of Chicago; the African Activists Archives, Michigan State University; the Chicago Anti-Apartheid Movement Collection, Columbia College Chicago; the National Conference of Black Lawyers/Chicago Chapter; the Center for the Study of Race, Politics and Culture, University of Chicago; African American Studies, Oberlin College; the National Conference of African Women/Western Cape; the West Indian Folk Dance Co.; the National Bar Association; the Coalition of Black Trade Unionists, Chicago Chapter & St. Louis Chapter; the Chicago Council of Black Studies; and Sylvia Ewing. The program discusses Professor Harold Rogers, Professor Ismay Ashford, Vickie Casanova, Professor Prexy Nesbitt, Dr. William H. Watkins, Attorney Stan Willis, Alderman Joe Davis, Sr., Dr. Lisa Brock, Heidi Marshall, Evalyn Tennet, Funeka Sihlali, Carol Thompson, Adrienne Y. Bailey, Harriet Parker, Sali V. Casanova, Baba T. Brown, Attorney, Steven Saltzman, Dr. Kucha Brownlee, Dr. Darreyl Young-Gibson, Basil Clunie, Funeka Sihlali, Mike Elliott, Professor Ellen Gary, Emily Williams, Bryan Weaver, Mark Durham, Koyi Williams, Professor Chris Root, Professor Dave Wiley, and the African National Congress (ANC). • PROGRAM • WEBSITES • CHICAGO-MIDWEST ANC CENTENARY COORDINATING COMMITTEE [Note: one name is spelled incorrectly, it should be Evalyn Tennant.]
Collection: Private collection of David Wiley and Christine Root